Orlando Food Trucks Review: Eclectic Kitchen

eclectick

I’m still a newbie but I have to give myself some props for coming out to Tasty Tuesdays in the Milk District for almost my fifth week straight. About every time I’ve spoken to my older brother on the phone I mention the food truck invasion here in O-Town. After some work-schedule houdini flare by both sides, brotherly love was enjoyed among Tuesday’s greatest patrons this week.

Now I show him around and act like I’ve “been there, done that”, hinting at what’s hot and what’s not. Little do I expect to be schooled by Eclectic KitchenI foolishly thought I figured out the soon to be repetitive cycle at Tasty Tuesdays but I couldn’t have been more psyched for what I drooled upon. What Eclectic Kitchen seems to do is take food truck quality to the next tier.

eclectick2

I always spend a solid 10 minutes almost doing a quick lap or three to search for my soul”food”mate. Luckily on my second lap I stared down the menu that  Bangkok, Thailand native Chef T has created as a byproduct of the street foods of her hometown. As my mouth watered from just reading the menu I had to snag two different food items:

-STIR-FRIED CHICKEN BASIL OVER JASMINE RICE, BELL PEPPER AND ONION TOPPED WITH AN EGG OVER-EASY ($8)

  • FINALLY A FULL MEAL! MOST OF THE FOOD TRUCKS SERVE A MAIN DISH AND SIDE SEPARATE

eclectick3

-SHRIMP AND CORN FRITTERS IN A SWEET CURRY REMOULADE (3/$5, 6/$7)

  • get these puppies mild, medium or hot. I’d say go hot because the flavor is the most intense (really not even that spicy, just great) and I wasn’t about to be a wuss in front of the Thai lady

eclectick5

There are a lot of great food trucks around but few provide the wholesomeness and diversity of flavors on a consistent basis (not just my word, but what the regulars I spoke with insisted on too). Everything is fresh and presented beautifully. The Eclectic Kitchen operates on a small menu based off ingredient availability and the chef’s prerogative. So on top of all my childlike show-and-tell bragging to my brother and friends, things actually get even better because I don’t think I could ever get tired of this truck.

eclectick4

With continental dishes also part of the repertoire and vegan/vegetarian options thrown in the mix as well, Eclectic Kitchen makes food trucks in Orlando more exotic and fresher than most. My only regret is not getting a second round of those shrimp and corn fritters to go my friends, don’t make the same mistakes that I did. That’s what this review is for fools!

TASTY TUESDAYS IN THE MILK DISTRICT

Every Tuesday 6:30-10pm

2424 East Robinson Street

Orlando, Fl 32803

Leave a Reply

