My Candy Bacon Recipe

Finally back at the old grind. I just sorta-kinda got settled into the new apartment so I’ve felt a bit disoriented and lost  in the mess of lousy packing I did. Before anything else, my next line of work was to break-in the new kitchen. While browsing through a couple of Epic Meal Time videos, I got a late night hankering for some sweet pig. After coming across a candy bacon recipe that night I took a bike ride to my friendly neighborhood Wal-Mart to round-up all I needed.

So all I really did was take an awesome creation and give it my own little tweak.

Ingredients:

  • brown sugar
  • cinnamon sugar or powder
  • thick-cut bacon (because more bacon is better bacon)
  • Nutella
  • coconut flakes
  • Foster’s to quench your cooking thirst

bacon1

Step 1: Preheat oven to 385

Step 2: Lay aluminum foil over a good sized baking tray and space out your bacon strips. If too close together they can bubble into each other when they bake.

Step 3: Dump two small handfuls of brown sugar and ground cinnamon into a mixing bowl and stir it up bare-hand

Step 4: Pinch the sugar mixture and spread it across the strips neatly, massaging the sweetness into each strip

bacon2

Step 5: Place the bacon into the oven for about 10-15 minutes at 385 (Keep an eye on it, it depends if you like crispy or tender bacon)

bacon3

Step 6: Pull the bacon out carefully and pour out the bacon grease into the sink or a bowl

Step 7: Flip the bacon over with some tongs or a fork and rub in the mixture on the other side

Step 8: Grab the nutella and pop it in the microwave for about a minute

bacon4

Step 9: Pour the warm nutella over the bacon with a spoon and sprinkle the coconut flakes on top

bacon8

Step 10: Put the bacon in the fridge to harden and get truly candied. Try eating it warm first because the smell is too good to pass up but I happened to prefer it cool and less messy

bacon9

bacon10

That’s that…no baking experience needed and never stop trying new things or giving it more practice to make it perfect. This is the first little recipe I have personally posted but more is on the way. For additional updates on any posted recipes make sure to follow Happy Plate on Facebook.

2 responses to “My Candy Bacon Recipe

Leave a Reply

